Related-Ministries-and-Agencies Coordinating Committee for Tobacco Countermeasures

1. Purpose

Based on the World Health Organization Framework Convention on Tobacco Control, in close collaboration with relevant ministries and agencies, in order to promote tobacco countermeasures, the Related-Ministries-and-Agencies Coordinating Committee for Tobacco Countermeasures (hereinafter referred to as the "Coordinating Committee") will be established.

2. Members

Members of the Coordinating Committee shall be as indicated in the attachment.

Additional members may be added as needed.

3. Board of Governors

Members of the Board of Governors are listed in the attachment, beneath the Coordinating Committee members.

Additional members of the Board of Governors may be added as needed.

Working groups may be established under the Board of Governors.

4. Secretariat

The Secretariat (General Affairs) of the Coordinating Committee, in cooperation with the General Affairs Division of the Tobacco and Salt Industry Offices in the General Affairs Division, Financial Bureau, Ministry of Finance, will establish an office in the General Affairs Division, Health Service Bureau, Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare, to establish policies on lifestyle diseases.

5. Other

Necessary matters related to conducting meetings, etc., will be decided by the Coordinating Committee.

6. Establishment

June 15, 2005

Members of the Related-Ministries-and-Agencies Coordinating Committee:

National Personnel Authority (Director, Personnel Welfare Department)

Cabinet Office (Director General for Policies on Cohesive Society)

National Police Agency (Director, Community Safety Bureau)

Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications (Director, Information and

Communications Policy Bureau)

Fair Trade Commission (Director, Fair Trade Subcommittee)

Ministry of Justice (Deputy Vice-Minister)

Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Director, Multilateral Cooperation Department)

Ministry of Finance (Director, Financial Bureau)

Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (Director-General, Sports and Youth Bureau)

Ministry of Health, Labour, and Welfare (Director, Health Service Bureau)

Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (Director-General)

Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (Director, Trade Policy Bureau)

Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Transport (Director, Policy Bureau)

Ministry of the Environment (Director, Global Environment Bureau)

Members of the Board of Governors:

National Personnel Authority (Director, Health and Safety Measures Promotion Office, Working Hours and Welfare Division, Employee Welfare Bureau)

Cabinet Office (Director General for Policies on Cohesive Society, Director for Policy of Youth Affairs)

National Police Agency (Director, Youth Protection Policy Office, Juvenile Division, Community Safety Bureau)

Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications (Director, Terrestrial Broadcasting Division, Information and Communications Policy Bureau)

Fair Trade Commission (Director, Trade Practices Department, Consumer-related Trade Division)

Ministry of Justice (Director, International Affairs Office, Secretariat Secretarial Division)

Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Director, Specialized Agencies Division, Multilateral Cooperation Department)

Ministry of Finance (Director, Tobacco and Salt Industries Office, General Affairs Division, Financial Bureau)

Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (Director, School Health Education Division, Sports and Youth Bureau)

Ministry of Health, Labour, and Welfare (Director, Lifestyle Diseases Countermeasures Office, General Affairs Division, Health Service Bureau)

Ministry of Health, Labour, and Welfare (Director, Environmental Improvement Office, Industrial Safety and Health Department, Labour Standards Bureau)

Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (Director, Regional Products and Industrial Crops Division, Agricultural Production Bureau)

Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (Director, International Economic Affairs Office, Trade Policy Bureau)

Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Transport (Director, Transport Consumer Policy Division, Policy Bureau)

Ministry of the Environment (Director, General Affairs Division, Global Environment Bureau)